New Alabama Law: Drive on the Right
- October 11, 2019
- Comments Off on New Alabama Law: Drive on the Right
We have a new Alabama law and failure to comply could cost you about $200. Here is the short version: drive on the right unless you are passing. The law gives you a mile and a half to pass.
Now, there are so many exceptions that the chance of you actually getting fined is a bit slim … but you could.
Here are some of the exceptions:
- Too much traffic
- Bad weather
- Road construction
- Need to turn left
It might surprise you, but this has been the law in the state since the 1980s. I have actually had friends move here from more congested states and be shocked when they found out. I would advise them of the law, and they looked at me like I had just hung up beer can chimes in the back yard.
The law is really meant to stop people who get in the left lane and drive below the speed limit. This can create road rage by the faster moving drivers and trouble for all of us.
Under the updated law, here is what I am told. If you are pulled over, you are facing a fine just under $200 in Mobile County and a little above $200 in Baldwin County. There is a warning period for this October and November.
To show just how convoluted the law can be and why you probably won’t be cited, you can click here to read it:
Check out Section 2 4(c). Even with a law degree, I had to read it twice.
Now my real advice is drive smartly. Be respectful of other drivers, and when given choices, choose the safe one.
If you suffer an injury, such as a traffic accident, slip and fall or injury from a faulty product, you can talk to us at the Law Firm of Eiland and Ritchie for free. We want to help you get back on your feet.
Also join us on NBC 15 LawCall here in Mobile every Sunday night at 10:30 right after the news. We do a short show on tape during the football season but will take your calls live again after the first of the year.
Alabama personal injury lawyer