Alabama Law: If You Wait, You Lose
- June 8, 2018
- Comments Off on Alabama Law: If You Wait, You Lose
You do not have forever to file a lawsuit in Alabama. In most cases, the countdown clock begins the moment that an accident happens.
In Alabama, you have 2 years to file a personal injury lawsuit. Let me say this again, you have 2 years. Let me say it another way … YOU HAVE 2 YEARS.
I keep preaching this because people just don’t seem to understand the importance of getting to a lawyer after they are hurt. Yes, it can take years of therapy to get back to normal, but if you wait, the law will not let you collect … ever.
Don’t wait until you think you can focus on your case. This is (partly) why you hire a lawyer. Let him or her work your case. You focus on getting better.
Now this may not sound like a good law to you but let me tell you why the law is here. Before this statute of limitations, people were coming back decades later saying they were hurt or a loved one had been killed. By this time, the evidence was gone, and memories had faded. It also clogged the court system. So, the legislature put in the time limit. Now, you need to gather the evidence and present your case in a timely fashion and get it resolved.
Here is my best legal opinion: see a lawyer as soon as you can.
If you are hurt in a slip and fall, traffic accident or other personal injury, you can talk to us at the Law Firm of Eiland and Ritchie for free. We want to help you get back on your feet.
Also join us on NBC 15 LawCall here in Mobile every Sunday night at 10:30 right after the news. We will take your calls live.
Alabama personal injury lawyer