AL Law, Teens and Drinking
- August 26, 2019
- Comments Off on AL Law, Teens and Drinking
Each year, there is a new crop of teenagers asking about alcohol and parents trying to deal with this new part of growing up. I will let you be the parent, but I will be the lawyer.
Here is the law in Alabama:
No one under the age of 21 can legally consume alcohol in our state. Period. Again, no one under 21 can consume alcohol in our state.
- Under 21-year olds cannot legally consume alcohol at a private residence
- Under 21-year olds cannot legally consume alcohol with their parents’ permission
- Under 21-year olds cannot legally consume alcohol as part of a religious ceremony
- Under 21-year olds cannot legally consume alcohol even if they are in the military
Drinking and Driving in Alabama
Tell your teen that in our state if you are arrested for DUI, your driver’s license is automatically suspended — even if you are innocent. If convicted, even of a first offense, you could have your driver’s license suspended for 90 days, a fine up to $2,000 and be placed in jail for up to 1 year.
Ignition Interlock Devices
I got another question this week about Ignition Interlock Devices, those are the devices you have to breathe into before a car will start.
Here is the reality: a judge can order you install one for a variety of reasons including your failure to take a field sobriety test, you registered .15 or higher, caused a crash, had a DUI with a passenger under 14 in the car or had too many DUIs.
If ordered installed, you pay for the installation, maintenance and monitoring costs.
And yes, if your teen has one court ordered, you will have to breathe into it every time you want to drive that car.
Also join us on NBC 15 LawCall here in Mobile every Sunday night at 10:30 right after the news. We will take your calls live.
Alabama personal injury lawyer